The YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas

For Youth Development ®
For Healthy Living
For Social Responsibility

12th Annual Key Leaders Lunch

On October 2nd, the Y held the 12th Annual YMCA Key Leaders Lunch. Nearly 400 community and YMCA leaders from around the area were in attendance. Paul Higgins, Chairman of the YMCA Board of Directors welcomed the group and served as the afternoon’s host.  The event encouraged key area business leaders to become more involved in the community by highlighting the YMCA’s future strategies for strengthening the foundation of our community by nurturing youth development, energizing healthy living and inspiring social responsibility.

Texas State Representative Scott Turner and YMCA Board of Director Member served as the keynote speaker for the luncheon. From the Plano YMCA to J.J. Pearce High School, to the NFL and the Capitol in Austin, Scott Turner has embraced every turn of his life preparing him for the next opportunity for service. Turner wowed the crowd with his story of having a dream and never giving up. From a kid learning to play sports at the Y to the NFL, it started as a dream as a 10 year old kid.  But no matter the obstacles Turner worked hard to achieve his goal. 

Scott Turner continued the outstanding tradition that has been established with our annual Key Leaders event.  His remarks provided inspiration and motivation in our own lives showing that faith, a dream and hard work pays off.

A special thanks to the generous sponsors who helped make this event possible:


Healthy Living Sponsors

The Beck Group



Youth Development Table Sponsors

Bank of America

Children’s Health System of Texas

Frost Bank

Haynes and Boone LLP

Jackson Walker

Jill and Brent Magnuson

Mary Kay Inc.



Southwest Office Systems

Texas Capital Bank

Texas Health Resources

Texas State Representative Scott Turner

Pictured (l-r)

Gordon Echtenkamp, President & CEO of the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas

Kelvin Walker, Vice Chair of the Board

Texas State Representative Scott Turner

Paul Higgins, Chairman of the Board



For more pictures from this event, visit our Flickr page