Twenty Dallas-area high school seniors received a total of $21,500 in academic scholarships from the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas Foundation and its supporters at its 36th Annual College Scholarship Dinner. These scholarships are renewable over four years for a total of $86,000.  Outside the dinner, the YMCA awarded additional scholarships to continuing college students who re-qualified for prior scholarships based on academic achievement.

Funds for the scholarships are made possible through the F.W. and Bessie A. Dye Foundation. These funds were given to the Dallas Y’s Foundation to provide post-secondary scholarships for local youth subject to certain items and conditions. YMCA Scholarships and Dye Scholarships funded by the Dye Foundation are distributed to students who demonstrate the desire to attend and complete college.  Dye scholarships are awarded based on motivation, achievement, and financial need. Also considered are high school grades, college entrance exam scores, and community involvement.   Students receiving a Dye scholarship can attend college anywhere in the world. 

"Since 1981, the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas has awarded nearly $4 million for educational scholarships to young adults from the Dallas and North Texas area and we are proud to again continue this tradition for the 36th consecutive year," said Casey Klein, VP of Operation at the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas. Students receiving scholarships must provide enrollment information, grades, and community service hours in order to renew the scholarship. “We are going to provide scholarships to 16 kids because it’s not just about youth development, healthy living, and social responsibility. The work that we do really emanates from the mission of the Y: To put Christian values into practice through programs that build health spirit, mind, and body for all.”


Students awarded scholarships are as follows:

Adrionna Jones Abilene Christian University Dye
Aimee Shimwa Texas A&M University Phipps
Akilah Wilson Texas A&M University-Commerce Dye
Alberto Macias Texas A&M University Dye
Andrea Dittmer Undecided Dye
Andres Alameda University of North Texas Dye
Dylan Redig University of Oklahoma Dye
Griffith Samore Hendrix College Dye
Harrington Hamm Undecided Dye
India Perry Howard University Dye
Jazkira Combs Indiana University Dye
Jessica Smith Texas Southern University Dye
Julia Portillo University of North Texas Chairman's Scholar
Leo Troik Undecided King
Madison Pike San Diego State University Dye
Meghana Dandu University of Texas @ Dallas Dye
Morgan Cooper Texas A&M University Dye
Natalie Kuzniar University of Arkansas Dye
Rachel Kruse Texas Christian University Dye
Sara Harris Texas Christian University Dye