The YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas

For Youth Development ®
For Healthy Living
For Social Responsibility

Dallas YMCA Hosts 130th Annual Meeting

On April 9th, 2015, the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas honored 29 amazing area volunteers at its 130th Annual Meeting held at the Belo Mansion. Volunteers were praised for their continued commitment and generosity to the North Texas community. The YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas President/CEO Gordon Echtenkamp was the evening’s speaker.

Three individuals received the organization’s prestigious Distinguished YMCA Leadership Award for consistent and extraordinary leadership in community service.


2014 Theodore P. Beasley Distinguished Leadership Award

The Theodore P. Beasley YMCA Distinguished Leadership Award was given to David Folz for his dedication and services to the Dallas community. Folz has served on the Board of Directors for the Dallas YMCA for 26 years and currently is the Chairman of the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas Foundation Board.   Folz’s dedicated and distinguished leadership embodies the spirit of the Theodore P. Beasley Award.

The Theodore P. Beasley Award is given annually in recognition of outstanding service and leadership to the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas.

To watch his story, click here.




2014 Charles P. Storey Strong Communities Award 

Larry Parks received the Charles P. Storey Strong Communities Award for his dutiful service to the JER Chilton YMCA in Rockwall, Park’s volunteer service spans almost 30 years.  He has served as a board member, Annual Campaign chair, Major Gifts Chair and Chairman of the Rockwall Board of Management.   He currently serves the Chair of the Capital Campaign.  Larry’s ability to connect the YMCA and the Rockwall community over the last 30 years exemplifies the mission, purpose, and ideals of the YMCA.

The Strong Communities Award is given to a YMCA volunteer who has been instrumental in creation and perpetuation of a local YMCA.

To watch his story, click here.




2014 George L. Allen Distinguished Leadership Award

Vestana Wollos received the George L. Allen Distinguished Leadership Award for her generous support of the Park South YMCA.   In 1968, then Mayor Eric Johnson and his wife posed a million dollar challenge grant to the businesses and citizens of South Dallas to build the Park South YMCA.  Many in the community stepped up, including Wollos, who donated her land to clear the way for the YMCA.  Two years later in 1970, the doors of the Park South YMCA opened.  As a dedicated member, Wollos believes in giving back and supporting the neighborhood. Her passion for her community truly reflects the ideals of George Allen and this award. 

The George L. Allen Distinguished Leadership Award is given to someone who has shown outstanding leadership or service to a community or a special group of people who experience unique challenges.

To watch her story, click here.



2014 YMCA Youth Character Award Winners

Four outstanding teens received the YMCA Youth Character Awards:  Chase Thomas with the Frisco YMCA, McKenzy Smith of the McKinney YMCA, Sharif Long with the Oak Cliff YMCA and Derrick Golden with the White Rock YMCA.


Sam Winstead Volunteer 
of the Year Award Winners

This award is presented each year to a volunteer who has committed significant time and energy to a program or to the perpetuation of a YMCA in their community.

Camp Grady Spruce Lisa Johnson
Collin County Adventure Camp  Clyde Camp
Coppell Family YMCA Bill Leonard
Cross Timbers Family YMCA Dawn Sprayman
Frisco Family YMCA Jason Dudley
Grand Prairie Family YMCA Dr. Bill Skaar
Irving Family YMCA Erin Yacho
J.E.R. Chilton YMCA Barbara Lee
Lake Highlands Family YMCA Robert Cook
Lakewest Family YMCA Alice Johnson
McKinney Family YMCA Carolyn Searles
Moorland Family YMCA Angela Taylor
Oak Cliff Family YMCA Gilbert Gonzales
Park Cities Family YMCA John Bunten
Park South Family YMCA Tanya Watkins
Plano Family YMCA Mark Forrer
Richardson Family YMCA Richard Brown
T. Boone Pickens YMCA Paul Bill Williams
Town North Family YMCA Jay Smith
Waxahachie Family YMCA Lauren Hassell
White Rock Family YMCA Greg Campbell



$2,500 Silver Sponsor:  Bank of America Merrill Lynch, The Beck Group, PricewaterhouseCooper and Texas Instruments

$1,500 Red Sponsors: Ames Printing, Garrett and Cecilia Boone, Beck Group, Children’s Health, City of Dallas Office of Economic Development, Hunt Consolidated, Jackson Walker LLP, McQueary Henry Bowles Troy LLP, Oncor and Texas Capital Bank