College Scholarship Graduates

Dallas, Texas – Twenty-one North Texas high school seniors received academic scholarships from the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas Foundation and its supporters at the 2020 Annual College Scholarship Virtual Reception. These scholarships are renewable over four years. “This is such a special time for the YMCA Foundation, because it is a chance to see that our future is in great hands with the remarkable young people that we are recognizing and supporting.” said Charlie Myer, President of the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas Foundation. Annually, the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas Foundation provides over $150,000 in support of students in colleges and universities.

Funds for the scholarships are made possible through, the Carl B. and Florence E. King and the F.W. and Bessie A. Dye Foundations. These funds were given to the Dallas Y’s Foundation to provide post-secondary scholarships for local youth subject to certain items and conditions. YMCA Scholarships along with the King and Dye Scholarships are distributed to students who demonstrate the desire to attend and complete college. Scholarships are awarded based on motivation, achievement, and financial need. Also considered are high school grades, college entrance exam scores, and community involvement.   

"Tonight’s scholarship recipients join hundreds of college students that the Y has supported over the last 40 years. Students this year will attend 18 different Universities in 8 different states and the United Kingdom. The YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas Foundation is proud to provide these funds to your child to help them realize their dreams." said Curt Hazelbaker, President and Chief Executive Officer of the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas.

Students awarded scholarships and selected schools are as follows: 

Ady Chaudhari - Dartmouth College

Alexandria King - Harvard University

Alyssa Hunt Jones - University of Alabama

Antwon Limbrick - University of Houston

Chea Coats - University of Evansville

Elizabeth Byrom - University of Texas at Austin

Alfredo Acuna - Texas A&M

Julia Bowers - Boston College

Jacieon Williams - Undecided

Madison Hider University of Tennessee

Maria Rios - Texas A&M University

Mia Charles - Texas Christian University

Richel Murata - Carnegie Mellon University

Sophia Patterson - Oklahoma City University

Tori Johnson - Texas A&M University-Commerce

Trevlan MacGregor - Saint Louis University

William Walters - Texas A&M University


Authored by: La Shae