Seventeen Dallas-area high school seniors received a total of $35,500 in academic scholarships from the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas Foundation and its supporters at its 39th Annual College Scholarship Reception. These scholarships are renewable over four years for a total of $142,000.  Along with these scholars, the YMCA awarded an additional $130,000 to 81 continuing college students who re-qualified for prior scholarships based on academic achievement.


Funds for the scholarships are made possible through, the Carl B. and Florence E. King and the F.W. and Bessie A. Dye Foundations. These funds were given to the Dallas Y’s Foundation to provide post-secondary scholarships for local youth subject to certain items and conditions. YMCA Scholarships along with the King and Dye Scholarships are distributed to students who demonstrate the desire to attend and complete college.  Scholarships are awarded based on motivation, achievement, and financial need. Also considered are high school grades, college entrance exam scores, and community involvement.   


"Since 1981, the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas has awarded nearly $4 million for educational scholarships to young adults from the Dallas and North Texas area and we are proud to again continue this tradition for the 39th consecutive year," said Curt Hazelbaker, President and Chief Executive Officer of the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas. “Students receiving scholarships must provide enrollment information, grades, and community service hours to renew the scholarship. These students deserve the opportunity to discover who they are and what they can achieve, we believe with the Y’s support we can help ensure a brighter future for our youth.”


Students awarded scholarships are as follows: 


Shay Adamson - the Einstein School

Michael Brown – McKinney Boyd High School

Landan Berlof - McKinney Boyd High School

Khadijah Brown – Lakeridge High School

Faith Cachay – Jack E. Singley High School

Jariah Cole – Duncanville High School

Kamryn Crowder – Duncanville High School

Olivia Hudgen – Woodrow Wilson High School

Katherine King – School for Talented and Gifted

Joshua Larriviere - Rockwall High School

Tyler Lees – Rick Reedy High School

Katina Liang – Highland Park High School

Elijah Lucero – Waxahachie Global High School

Kennedy Onic – Duncanville High School

Chloe Teaff – Plano West High School

Keirra Vinson – Parrish Episcopal School

Judy Willis – Home Life Academy




The Y is one of the nation’s leading nonprofits strengthening communities through youth development, healthy living and social responsibility. Across the U.S., 2,687 Ys engage 21 million men, women and children – regardless of age, income or background – to nurture the potential of children and teens, improve the nation’s health and well-being, and provide opportunities to give back and support neighbors.  Anchored in 21 North Texas communities, the Dallas Y has the long-standing relationships and physical presence not just to promise, but to deliver, lasting personal and social change. www.ymcadallas.org